Demand the Safe Return of Colombia’s Detained and Disappeared during the National Strike!

Please act today to send an email to the United Nations, and the Colombian and US governments calling for the freedom of political prisoners arrested during Colombia’s National Strike, and the safe return of those who have been “disappeared”!

 

COMING SOON!

CLICK HERE to purchase tickets to see Bajo Fuego (Under Siege) on Saturday, August 7, 4:30pm Eastern, 3:30pm Central/Colombia/Mexico City, 2:30pm Mountain, 1:30pm Pacific, 9:30pm London, 10:30pm Madrid and Barcelona, 6:30am Sydney

Many of you contributed to our effort to collect funds to supply street medics in Cali during the National Strike. David Escobar was one of our main contacts for getting supplies where they were needed. David is also an independent journalist who has produced some of the most widely shared videos exposing police and paramilitary violence against strikers. David was robbed by paramilitaries at gunpoint of $5000 worth of video equipment. This happened following threats by police while he was covering a confrontation with demonstrators. We are organizing a private online showing of the feature-length documentary Bajo Fuego (Under Siege) to help replace these tools of struggle. David worked as a cinematographer on the film, and he and the directors will be available afterwards to answer questions.

Bajo Fuego profiles communities in the north of Cauca, where political violence is at its highest levels. The documentary delves deeply into issues concerning the peace accord, drug war, and land rights. Bajo Fuego faithfully and powerfully presents the reality of life for rural Colombians today. Highly recommended!