Upcoming Webinar: Building Food Sovereignty in Nicaragua

REGISTER

Sunday February 28th, 2021

12pm Pacific / 2pm Nicaragua / 3pm Eastern / 8pm Greenwich UK / 9pm Europe

Nicaraguans are hard at work on a multi-faceted approach to ensure people’s freedom from hunger and for adequate nutrition. The speakers in this webinar will discuss Nicaragua’s efforts toward food sovereignty, including farmer associations like the ATC, agroecology projects, and government programs such as Zero Hunger and school meals.

 

Speakers:


Erika Takeo is a North American based in Managua, Nicaragua. She is the coordinator of the Friends of the ATC, the solidarity network with the Rural Workers Association, and also a part of the international staff team in the Continental Operating Secretariat of the Latin American Coordination of Rural Organizations, CLOC, the expression of La Via Campesina in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Rita Jill Clark-Gollub has lived in the United States most of her life, but has family roots in Nicaragua. While always generally in support of the Sandinista Revolution, since 2018 she has been studying the situation in the country more closely in an effort to sort through the misinformation published in U.S. corporate media. The past two years she attended two study delegations to Nicaragua, learning lots and making new connections with social movements on the ground. She is an active member of Friends of Latin America, a solidarity organization in Maryland, and she is an Assistant Editor/Translator at the Council on Hemispheric Affairs.

The webinar will have a duration of 75 minutes and will be recorded. Please register for the webinar to receive a follow-up email with the event recording and additional materials.

This is the February event in a monthly webinar series on Nicaragua.

REGISTER

Additional organizational sponsors are welcome. Contact info.friendsatc@gmail.com to sign on.

Current sponsors:

Alliance for Global Justice
Casa Baltimore/Limay
Chicago ALBA Solidarity
Council on Hemispheric Affairs
IRTF Cleveland
Friends of Sandinista Nicaragua
Friends of Latin America
Friends of the ATC
Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign
Task Force on the Americas