Upcoming Webinar: Women’s Voices from Central America


REGISTER HERE

Monday, March 8, 2021

4 pm PST / 5 pm MST / 6 pm CST / 6 pm Central America / 7 pm EST

Many people in the United States sympathize with the plight of new immigrants who arrive from Latin America, particularly in light of the mistreatment they receive from U.S. government agencies, like U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) and Customs and Border Protection (CBP). However, fewer people are informed about the forces driving migrants to leave their homes, which is why a group of organizations and individuals have come together to highlight the root causes of migration and bring to light the role U.S. policies play in causing people to be displaced.

On International Women’s Day, we will hear from women in three Central American countries that have been heavily impacted by U.S. foreign policy: El Salvador, Honduras, and Nicaragua. Through a video montage of interviews they will share their personal experiences of being caught in circumstances that threatened their livelihoods and their families. The program will also feature a live conversation with social movement women leaders from the three countries who will connect the dots between the impact of U.S. policies on their countries, including trade agreements, land tenure, military intervention, promotion of fossil fuels and agribusiness and the massive displacement of people from their communities.

Latin American musician Lilo Gonzalez will share some songs with the audience as part of the program.