Urgent: Special Webinar Thurs. 5/27 to Lobby Congress about Nicaragua

Please join us for a special briefing on the RENACER Act, which would impose new illegal punitive measures on Nicaragua in the lead-up to its November elections.  The legislation is being discussed at the same time in both US chambers of Congress (House and Senate), which is unusual. It seems the powers that be want this bill against Nicaragua passed ASAP.

We can’t let it happen!  Join us Thursday, May 27th 

3pm Pacific / 4pm Mountain / 5pm Central / 6pm Eastern Time

(Zoom info further below)

Webinar speakers will discuss this bill in detail and outline effective ways to approach our Representatives and Senators, urging them to oppose it.

 

About the Speakers

Barbara Larcom is the coordinator of Casa Baltimore/Limay, a friendship project linked with San Juan de Limay, Estelí department.  She has visited Nicaragua 22 times since 1989 and authored chapters in two Alliance for Global Justice e-books about Nicaragua events in 2018 and 2019, downloadable here and here.

Arnie Matlin is a pediatrician who visited Nicaragua for the first time in 1988, and has been there 37 times since then.  He is on the Board of the Alliance for Global Justice, which includes the Nicaragua Network.  He’s also Secretary of the Rochester Committee on Latin America.  In 2004 the FSLN honored him with the Order of the 25th Anniversary of the Revolution.

Jennifer Atlee coordinates the Friendship Office of the Americas.  She lived in Central America for several decades, working in the areas of human rights, trauma and recovery and the impact of U.S. policy.  Her book, Red Thread; A Spiritual Journal of Accompaniment, Trauma and Healing chronicles her experiences in the war zones of Nicaragua during the U.S. sponsored contra war.

Our moderator, Jill Clark-Gollub, is a solidarity activist in the Washington, DC area with Friends of Latin America, and Assistant Editor/Translator at the Council on Hemispheric Affairs.

 

Zoom link:  https://zoom.us/j/95755917689

Password:  Casa1985

Meeting ID:   957 5591 7689

Join by phone:   301 715 8592