Webinar Announcement: Nicaragua’s Inspiring Social & Economic Advances

WEBINAR SUNDAY, JUNE 20

12 PM Pacific / 1 PM Nicaragua / 3 PM Eastern / 8 PM UK / 9 PM W. Europe

REGISTER NOW

Join us! 

This 90-minute webinar will start with Jorge Capelán who will discuss Nicaragua’s current defensive actions against US destabilization and intervention in the November elections.  Then Winnie Narvaez and Coleen Littlejohn will discuss the remarkable advances taking place in the country since 2006 when the Sandinistas won the elections.  There will be ample time for Q&A.

About the speakers:

Jorge Capelán is a Latin American journalist and political analyst who has worked for many years in Nicaragua. He appears weekly on news analysis programs and writes for several online news outlets. 

Winnie Narváez Herrera, who will discuss social advances in the country, is a Nicaraguan who holds a degree in sociology and a master in sustainable development from the University of Leuven in Belgium. She is also an artist from the National School of fine Arts in Managua. In Nicaragua she has worked on rural development, housing cooperatives, and cooperative social education research and promotion at ÁBACOenRed.

Coleen Littlejohn, who will discuss Nicaragua’s economic advances, has been living in that nation for most of the last 41 years.  She has worked for a wide range of organizations such as Catholic Relief Services, the International Reconstruction Fund (FIR),  Nicaragua Network, CAPRI (a local development NGO she founded in 1988), Save the Children Canada  (Managua and Toronto) and the World Bank in Nicaragua, Liberia, West Africa and in Washington, DC.

This is the June event in a monthly webinar series on Nicaragua.  Additional organizational sponsors are welcome.  Contact madeline@afgj.org sign on.

Current sponsors:
Alliance for Global Justice
Casa Baltimore/Limay
Chicago ALBA Solidarity
IRTF Cleveland
Friends of Sandinista Nicaragua
Friends of Latin America
Friends of the ATC
Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign
Task Force on the Americas
Council on Hemispheric Affairs

REGISTER HERE!