[Webinar] Runoff Election in Ecuador: The Fight for Democracy

Friday, April 2nd at 7 pm ET/6 pm CT/5 pm MT/4 pm PT

Ecuador faces a crucial runoff election on April 11 as the country struggles to free itself from capitalist imposed austerity, economic recession, and pandemic. Socialist candidate Andres Arauz leads a progressive alliance and has an excellent chance to be elected President against right-wing banker Guillermo Lasso. There are efforts by the establishment to eliminate Arauz from the runoff or even cancel the election. Progressive International has warned of threats to democracy in Ecuador. What is U.S. imperialism doing behind the scenes? Hear from members of the Ecuador’s Union for Hope (UNES) alliance and an election observer from the Progressive International.

Featuring Monica Palacios (National Assembly Representative, Unión por la Esperanza – Union for Hope), Ramón Mendes Rivas (Acción Revolución Collective Unión por la Esperanza – Union for Hope), David Adler (Progressive International Election Observer Delegation).
Moderated by Vanessa Agudelo (Peekskill, NY City Council, Lower Hudson DSA member).

Sponsored by DSA International Committee. Co-sponsors: Alliance for Global Justice, Chicago ALBA Solidarity, Mid-Hudson Valley DSA Chapter

Link to the event on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/1386438378364577/

REGISTER HERE