Webinar: Solidarity with Peru’s Struggle for Popular Democracy

Register to attend Solidarity with Peru’s Struggle for Popular Democracy

Tuesday, July 6, 2021, at 8pm Eastern Time, 7pm Central, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific

Featuring:

Lucho Garate, Spokesperson for the Communist Party of Peru – Patria Roja, and former Lima city councilor

Carla Toche, Political scientist and activist with Nuevo Peru

George Ygarza, PhD Candidate in Global Studies with a focus on mining and Andean Political Resistance.

Peru’s democracy is in crisis as the recent election of Pedro Castillo is being challenged by Peru’s far right. Castillo is a teacher and union member who won a hard-fought battle against Keiko Fujimori for the presidency. Fujimori is the daughter of former president Alberto Fujimori, who is in prison for human rights abuses and corruption.  She leads the political movement founded by her father and has, herself, been jailed for corruption-related charges. Peru is a major ally for the US government, and an important component of the US regional strategy against popular movements and governments across South America. In this webinar, we will learn about Peru’s history of popular resistance, the current struggle for real democracy, and the role it plays as a collaborator with US hegemony in Latin America; and we will discuss how we, as internationalists, can best show our solidarity with the people of Peru.