Land, agroecology & peasant identity: The experience of young people in Nicaragua

Co-hosted by the Nicaragua Solidarity Campaign and Friends of the ATC

Wednesday 23 September: 11.30am – 1pm Nicaragua time, 10.30am – 12pm US Pacific, 1.30pm – 3pm US Eastern, 6.30pm – 8pm UK time

The global movement of peasant and indigenous food producers, La Via Campesina, warns that COVID-19 “has exposed the vulnerability of the globalised food system dominated by industrial agriculture, and the dangers it poses to all life forms. We must learn from this crisis and invest in building local, resilient and diverse food systems.”

La Via Campesina promotes agroecology as a fundamental pillar to building food sovereignty and addressing the climate and biodiversity crisis.

The Nicaraguan Rural Workers’ Association (ATC) is a founding member of La Via Campesina and an outstanding example how this vision can be put into practice.

The ATC coordinates one of the nine Latin American Institutes of Agroecology (IALAs) across the continent, which offer degrees in agroecology for young people from La Via Campesina and incorporates a combination of political, ideological and technical training.

Join us in this webinar to find out more about the experience of Latin America Agroecology Institute Ixim Ulew in Nicaragua from its director and two recent graduates.

“The task we have is to recover the land and our identity as young campesinxs, to have our own land to grow food in a holistic, diversified way…I want to be someone who lives their dreams,” Migdalia Cruz

Panelists:

  • Marlen Sanchez, ATC Nicaragua, IALA Ixim Ulew Academic Director
  • Migdalia Cruz, ATC Nicaragua and IALA Ixim Ulew graduate
  • Darwin Hernandez, CNTC Honduras, IALA Ixim Ulew graduate

Moderator:

  • Jesus Vasquez, Organización Boricuá de Agricultura Ecológica, Puerto Rico

The webinar will be in Spanish with simultaneous interpretation into English. (Please note that simultaneous interpretation is not available on Linux systems.)

REGISTER HERE:

https://www.tickettailor.com/events/nicaraguasolidaritycampaign1/423755#